Rapunzel's Crafts

Rapunzel's is flowing with ideas

As promised, here is that silly old bear!

on August 29, 2013

Hi guys, as promised here is the Winnie the Pooh post.

My dear friend Windy, is a HUGE Winnie the Pooh fan, so I wanted to do something different this year and try my hand at a big polymer clay Winnie for Windy.    

image

He is about 4inches tall and has a Hunny pot filled with honey (actually it is gold glitter and clear nail polish, think it worked perfect.)

image

He is also wearing some of the honey himself, silly old bear. Once, he was sculpted and baked, I painted his eyes, nose and eyebrows and affixed him to a mirrored base to give him a more upscale statue look.  

image

  What do you guys think? I know I was pretty proud of him.  

Now Windy is also not a gift bag keeper, she recycles them, so to make a bag Windy would like I took a brown craft bag and dripped yellow acrylic paint down the sides to mimic honey and attached a little pompom bee I made (thanks to hubby’s suggestion) to the handle    

image

The little bee turned out super cute, I may have to try different animals now     He is three yellow pompoms glued together, two black pipe cleaners (one for the stripes and one for the wings) and two black straight pins for the eyes which also made his body more stable. And just for some more whimsy, I added some glitter nail polish to the wings.  

image

  I also made a really need two sided bookmark with the help of my cricut. I printed a cute picture of Winnie and Christopher Robin,  

image

then on the other side I used gold scrapbook paper and my cricut (blade upside down) and “etched” this inspirational Christoper Robin quote, “You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” Then cut the bookmark out. After I glued the two pieces together, I made a tassel out of cross stitch floss and it was all ready to be bagged and presented to the birthday girl.

image

I apologize for the picture of the quote, the back was so shiny it was hard to catch the beauty in a photo but I tried.   I think everything turned out great and Windy loved them, which was the goal.   I would love to know what you think, please send me any comments or questions. I know I didn’t quite do a tutorial on these, but if you need help or want to know how to make anything I posted, just let me know and I will be happy to help. Hope you enjoyed this post. More coming soon.

3 responses to “As promised, here is that silly old bear!

  1. Mom says:

    Looks amazing!!

  2. Windy says:

    I can attest to the fact that you did an awesome job (as always) I have Winnie the Pooh at my desk and the bookmark there too. I feel special and honored that you took the time to do something special for me

Leave a Reply

