Rapunzel's Crafts

Rapunzel's is flowing with ideas

Weekend of Celebration

on June 17, 2013

Friday was hubby’s birthday and as you saw, we did Borderlands 2 for his work celebration, so I am sure you are all wondering what I did for home, or who?!

That is right, Who.

Home was all Dr Who themed, starring Doctors 9-11, since that is where we started.

Here is the decor starting with the front door

Of course a Tardis door, I even included a beacon in the window to mimic the light atop the Tardis, I was going to cover the remainder of the door with blue crepe paper but it was threatening rain, so I just taped it up. Didn’t want to clean soggy crepe paper off everything, lol!

DSC02345

Instead of Police public call Box, I did Happy 29th year BirthdayDSC02347

The police box notice also reads birthday themedDSC02346

Inside, I “graffiti-ed”  Bad Wolf on our chalk boardDSC02344

Also marked some Silence encountersDSC02343

I strung Tardis and star string lights down the stairs and the Impossible Astronaut is floating right at the beginning of the stepsDSC02337

Up close Tardis and star lightDSC02339

I also made Garland with tons of Doctor Who quotes and pictures

DSC02341

I also took the mask pictures from the bbc website and made them smaller to make an alien garland for other wallDSC02342

When you first get up the stairs you see the Happy Birthday sign with the seal of Rassilon, some star twirlers and balloons

DSC02332

Led and Mylar Star balloons

DSC02335

Solar System hanging from ceiling fan

DSC02355

I made a Tardis vase and filled it with Sunflowers (one of my van gogh references)DSC02307

Also made this cool steampunk happy birthday sign for the flowersDSC02309

Exploding Tardis on the tableDSC02310

Awesome space tablecloth with cool earth like plates that I found at TargetDSC02311

Begging Pterodactyl and sign that states do not feedDSC02312

I also took my foam head from halloween (he was the organ player for my haunted mansion) and gave him a new more doctor like get up. I made him a fez, 3d glasses and a bowtie, cause bowties are cool!

There are also some Tardis self destruct buttons (alright, they are jammie dodgers), some banana runts (since 9th liked bananas and since it was a party, we followed the 10th’s instructions to always bring one.)  The 10th’s sonic screwdriver made out of polymer clay.DSC02313

Would you like a jelly baby? We hear they were Tom Baker’s faves and the ganger 11th, seemed to like them too.DSC02314

I also made a journal of impossible things and the doctors fob watchDSC02315

Next to the table I made Amy Pond’s apple and another apple which hate things, like I hate apple, apple are rubbish on it.
 DSC02320

Glow jar with starsDSC02321

River song’s journal and some chapstick I used a sticker and some glitter to make into hallucinogenic lipstick. I wrote all of my husband and I’s adventures in the journal, to track our time together, like River did with the doctorDSC02322

I made bowties are cool garland and decorated the tvDSC02324

Even Riddick got in on the fun, looking dashing in the bowtie I made him 🙂 DSC02325

Hello Sweetie garland with pictures of River song in it (yes, I printed my S wrong, so it is backwards, was boring white on other side.)DSC02326

I also found this awesome Gallifreyan Translator and used it to create this “Happy 29th Birthday, sweetie” bannerDSC02327

Then there is the table of Tardis, I made a cansiter with working light, the vase, a gift bag and this awesome paper craftDSC02328Tardis Key I made atop Tardis Canister

DSC02331

Fridge also had some posters and things I have learned from Doctor WhoDSC02329 My weeping Angel, which I made from a Monster High Doll (tutorial will be posted soon) placed on a mirror and in front of one, so she won’t attack

DSC02333

The 10th first hand, which was cut off during his regeneration by the SycoroxDSC02334

Constellation jar I made
DSC02336

On to the food

Adipose baby marshmallows

DSC02319

Apples are rubbish nachos, I found a melting pot copy cat recipe for their cheddar fondue and served it with a granny smith apple

DSC02352

Bowties are cool pasta saladDSC02353

Sontaran spuds (twice baked potatoes cut in half and then I placed almond slivers for noses and peppercorns for eyes), keep calm and eat fish sticks and custard (lemon custard or tartar sauce, we tried the custard and stayed with the tartar sauce) and Silurian spears (asparagus spears wrapped in bacon)DSC02354

Dalek cupcakes with edible ball bearings (irish creamcupcakes with irish cream filling, nonalcoholic)DSC02348

and last but not least, Tardis cake with functional light 🙂 DSC02351

Presents

The guest of honor got home and looks around, then we ate and got ready to unwrap presents

DSC02357

Now we are ready for presentsDSC02358

Birthday card, I did exploding Tardis on a handmade scratch board and sealed it, so wouldn’t scratch anymore

DSC02288

Inside the paper craft was a polymer clay cyberman I madeDSC02359

Then the big canister had to blind pack vinyl doctor who toys, we got the 11th Tardis and Doctor, pretty perfectDSC02360

Yay! new toys (there we also some cool doctor who post it notes inside)DSC02368

Next the gift bag had plushies I made, an OodDSC02369

and an AdiposeDSC02371

There is also a cool shirt, but you will see it in the next post

Kris checking out his Riversong JournalDSC02372 And getting some love from Doctor Dog
DSC02375

So that is it, The Doctor Who birthday is done.

Was a big hit, tomorrow, I will share with you birthday events of Saturday. Stay tuned!

One response to “Weekend of Celebration

  1. Kristofer says:

    It was an amazing Birthday, thank you so much! Apples are Rubbish still makes me laugh.

Leave a Reply

