Rapunzel's Crafts

Rapunzel's is flowing with ideas

Welcome Foolish Mortals, to the Haunted Mansion

on February 26, 2013

Today I will be your ghost host! And today I will be showing you some incredible Haunted Mansion Art that has mostly been created as loving gifts for me. I have a HUGE love for the Haunted Mansion, it truly is one of the most mystical and magical Places in Disney to me. So much so that my prince almost proposed to me there.

Here we are the day my husband proposed at Disneyland (for those who don’t know, he chose the perfect spot to actually ask me, in front of Flynn and Rapunzel later that day!!)

zoo 360

My love for the Haunted Mansion has been very evident in our lives, from Halloween themes, gift themes and our Art work, especially my husband’s art.

The very first piece of Haunted Mansion art, Kris created (remember we literally share the same name Kris Floyd, lol!) Was a beautiful depiction of the Parasol girl (sorry, this one is not for sale or displayed anywhere else) stretching portrait. She has red hair and hazel eyes like me and instead of the alligator nipping at her heels she has a demon dog which looks amazingly like our Pomeranian Riddick!

She is a very large piece as was created for my Christmas present in 2011 after our Disneyland trip. He painted the entire picture in the garage without me knowing. Wow!! She is still my favorite piece!

Parasol Girlparasol

Beware of Hitchhiking Ghosts!

That’s right, these guys are trouble, they pop up everywhere, well at least in two pieces… so far!!

This first one is called Beware of Hitchhikers!!

It was originally a sketch and prisma color markers but it has since then been enhanced Digitally and looks pretty remarkable!

Beware of Hitchhikers

hitchhikingghostfin

I love that they are all shoved in a trunk and the truck pays homage to Disney and all the park Locations!

This next on is Titled, No Escaping the Haunted Mansion. Everything but Phineas, Ezra and Gus was all created digitally. The ghosts were a sketch and then scanned in to finish digitally.

Nooneescapes

I just love this one, his story is that Master Gracey (or the Mariner from the original concept) caught the trio out front trying to hitch a ride. Now Gus, who is always in trouble (hence being the prisoner) is assigning blame to Ezra! So cute! The colors are vibrant and definitely invoke the Haunted Mansion feel.

This last piece is Acrylic on Canvas, simply entitled, Madame Leota. She was inspired by Rick Baker’s concept art of Jennifer Tilly for the movie.

Madame Leota

IMG_5327

Madame Leota has a remarkable head for materializing the disembodied. 🙂

She is simply stunning in the green ethereal quality and the glow she seems to give off. The detailing of the drips at the bottom is great, draws attention to the fact that she is just a head and not a bust painting.

All of these pieces except Parasol girl can be found at Redbubble and Deviantart, check them out and feel free to leave a comment for the Artist. He would love your feedback.

Thank you for checking out the blog today, I hope you enjoyed!

There is one final thing I forgot to mention, a ghost will follow you home! The ghosts would like your company (and so would I) so hurry back! We’ve been dying to have you 🙂

2 responses to “Welcome Foolish Mortals, to the Haunted Mansion

  1. Kristofer says:

    Nice post sweetie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

