Rapunzel's Crafts

Rapunzel's is flowing with ideas

The The Darker side of Disney Art, creations by the other Kris Floyd

on February 25, 2013

Hi guys, I know I am mostly princesses and pretties here so far but with the Disney world trip being 19 days away, I was reminiscing on the last trip to Disneyland and I started thinking about my husband. He is an amazing artist and he really enjoys making me art. On our last trip he was inspired to create some “darker” pieces, infected or zombie characters.

Together we drew a few sketches of how they should look and explored a few avenues, like every one but Minnie being infected and her being the heroine (go Minnie!)

Ultimately we didn’t finish those guys but these two amazing paintings are the result of that exploration.

The Empty Mouse

zombiemouse

He originally started as a post-it note scribble my hubby gave me and I LOVED it!! I loved it so much in fact that I requested this amazing painting. It is done with acrylic on stretch canvas. Now to be honest he doesn’t look undead or infected truly, and of course like all art it is up to interpretation. To me he reminds me more of hypnotized or zombified in the voodoo since. Either way, he is truly wonderful and had to be shared!

Undead Duck

Zombieduck

Donald has a little more of the “undead” quality to him with his exposed skull but he also has that emptiness to him. He too is Acrylic on Canvas. Despite his dark qualities, he makes me smile. I love the tongue and the minimal use of color.

These are just some of the few Disney inspired pieces in my hubby’s collection.

Tomorrow we will be visiting the Haunted Mansion!

If anyone is interested in more art by my husband or acquiring one of these prints. Please visit Deviantart or Redbubble

Thanks for checking out the post today!

Hurry Back, hurry back, be sure to bring your death certificate if you decide to join us tomorrow for the haunted mansion art gallery 🙂

One response to “The The Darker side of Disney Art, creations by the other Kris Floyd

  1. Kristofer says:

    Thanks for the art nod, princess.

Leave a Reply

