Rapunzel's Crafts

Rapunzel's is flowing with ideas

Up Themed Valentine’s day

on February 21, 2013

Hi guys,  we are almost to the  final post of the Up themed Valentine’s day picnic.

I wanted to show you how the whole thing came together, I think it turned out super cute.

I got a paper mache mail box at hobby lobby for $4.99 (was going to buy the cartridge on cricut to make one for the same price, but I had less work with this one)

It was small so instead of doing the hand print, I painted them on and did our names as well.

meil

mailboxup

Then I cut what seemed to be a million little hearts with my cricut and wrote various this I love about my hubby on them. And I hide the UP movie inside all the hearts.  Look at that stuffed mailbox!

heartattack mailbox

Here is hubby opening the mailbox, apparently he got lots of mail 🙂

IMG_5484

IMG_5486
IMG_5485

In my last post I showed you how to make the “Ellie Badge” and this is how I presented the one I made to my husband.

I made some little love badges on paint and colored them and added them to a strip of construction paper, to look like Russel’s sash.

Then I made a letter on Photoshop explaining the gift, turned out really pretty.

boxup The Card: I made the envelope with card stock and littered it with my favorite foam adhesive hearts (probably used about 200 of them this Valentine’s day)
envelope

The card was all designed and cut on the cricut, I made the up house with various shaped and glued it all together. I used the same technique for these balloons as I did on the adventure book (glue the strings to each individual heart and then glue to card.) I drew the windows and door with black sharpie.upcard

The inside was also made with the cricut, except the bow, I used a small hole punch and some scissors. Glued the string in spots to get the loops. I was really happy with it 🙂 insideup

I had to get grape soda for the picnic, so I got this NuGrape from World Market and created my own grape soda labels on Photoshop.
grapesodabottle

It was too cold for a picnic outdoors, so I turned the living room into our picnic local. Hung some lanterns from the ceiling fan to mimic balloons.

IMG_5493

Sat out our new colorful Valentine’s plates from target in a picnic basket with a plaid napkinIMG_5469

Got a paper Mache house from hobby lobby for $6 and painted it to best look like the house, then I made fruit skewers to look like the balloons 🙂 IMG_5471

To go with the picnic themed I made mini heart shape sandwiches, Ruben’s and Cuban’s with balloon and badge toothpicks, I made.IMG_5478

Here is one of the table top pics.IMG_5472For Dessert, I decided I would make Smore Cupcakes. They turned out beautiful and I finished them off with the remainder of the toothpicks

IMG_5479

Pretty hefty cupcake, you can see the graham cracker crust in this pic.IMG_5480

And last but not least, my prince finally got his adventure book!

IMG_5487 IMG_5488 IMG_5489 A very successful Valentine’s day picnic and mostly home-made. I hope you enjoyed this post, I was very happy to share it 🙂

2 responses to “Up Themed Valentine’s day

  1. dancinmoma says:

    Love everything! So fun and crafty! My three kids would have flipped out for seething like this. We settled for homemade valentines but you have inspired me for next year ….. 🙂 I’m new to the whole blogging thing would love some feedback if you get a chance. Following you now. 🙂

  2. Kristofer says:

    It was an amazing indoor picknick and I am telling you those sandwiches are one of my favorites that I will be requesting over and over, over and over… Sorry I will stop that. ;P But seriously the Up thing was such a great success and I had the provledge of having my very own Ellie for a day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

