Rapunzel's Crafts

Rapunzel's is flowing with ideas

Valentine’s Disney UP themed jewelry tutorial

on February 20, 2013

Hello everyone, today I wanted to share with you my Up themed Ellie Badge for hubby and my Ellie/Adventure necklace for myself I made to go with our Valentine’s day UP theme that I created for my hubby.

As many of you know The Ellie Badge is the Badge that Ellie creates in UP when they are children, it is a grape soda bottle cap and a safety-pin. Carl wears it throughout the movie as a touching reminder of his wife.

I decided to go with an UP theme, because of how much romance there is in the growing old together and sharing the adventure of being together, and it seemed appropriate for our first Valentine’s day as a married couple.

So of course, I needed to make an Ellie Badge for Hubby. Then I thought, I want one too, lol! So I made a necklace with two sides for me 🙂

Here is what I used

Two metal bottle caps – I found two of my BIL’s and used them (the frugal way) or you can buy blank ones at the craft store for $3 for 6 caps

silver paint if using something other than blank bottle caps

Grape soda image (printed out at 1inch)

GrapeSodaBottleCap

1 inch hole punch or scissors to cut out the grape soda logo (when I was at hobby lobby, I did notice they have grape soda bottle caps, but the image is not the one from up, but you could go that route if you didn’t mind the difference)

Modge Podge to adhere the grape soda (or adventure) image to bottle cap and seal it

paint brush

1inch clear circle acrylic stickers to cover the grape soda image and give it that raise finished look (got mine at Michael’s 24 in a pack for $2.99 plus 40% off)

a hammer and nail to punch holes

one large safety-pin or one eye pin if making charm

needle nose pliers

Step 1:

Paint the bottle caps silver (if you are starting with blanks go onto step two)

Step 2: Use hammer and nail to put holes in bottle caps (two across from each other for safety-pin or one on top for charm)

Step 3: Remove the safety part of safety-pin if making badge and string through back of bottle cap, secure safety back on and close.

if making charm string eye pin string through hole, twist around the back of eye pin to secure the top.

(pictures of steps 1-3 completed below on each project)

grapesodapin

grapecharm

Step 4: Adhere your images to bottle cap with modge podge (necklace one in and one outside)

startofgrapesoda charmnid

Step 5: Seal image on outside with modge podge as wellgrapesodamid

Step 6: Adhere your epoxy sticker on top of sealed image to give protection and 3d effect, you are done with grape soda pin, next step necklace only

grapesoda adventure upinside

Step 7:  add chain to necklace

adventurenecklace grapesodanecklace

Now wear your new treasures and enjoy!

4 responses to “Valentine’s Disney UP themed jewelry tutorial

  1. emily galor says:

    Where did u find the adventure is out there printable?

    • It isnt a printable, I created with photo shop.
      I do not post to this blog anymore, please check out my new blog for my most up to date posts. Rapunzelscrafts.weebly.com
      Thank you for visiting.

  2. Crystal says:

    How do you remove the safety part of the safety pin?? I tried to google it but haven’t come up with anything useful.

Leave a Reply

