Rapunzel's Crafts

Rapunzel's is flowing with ideas

New recipe for Dinner – Unstuffed Cabbage

on January 7, 2013

Unstuffed-Cabbage-Allrecipes-76896.card

Welcome to the New Year!!

As I am sure many of us are, we are trying to get back on track in the new year from all the deliciousness of the holidays. I know I ate way more then I should have, so hubby and I are trying to eat in more and eat better. So in the fridge I had half a cabbage from new years dinner and half a pound of ground beef. I wanted to do stuffed cabbage but it takes me forever to make.

SO I thought of my stovetop lasagna and found a recipe for unstuffed cabbage. Was delicious and took half the time, even made mashed potatoes while this was cooking.

What I used

-half a head of cabbage, chopped up roughly

– one can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes put through food processor to create sauce

– 8oz lean ground beef (had 93/7 in fridge)

– 1/4 cup onion chopped

-2 garlic cloves chopped

– salt and pepper to taste

-1/4 tsp cinnamon and nutmeg

-2 tbs lemon juice

I browned the ground beef, onions and garlic, slowly added the cabbage and once it was slightly wilted, I added tomato sauce, lemon, cinnamon and nutmeg and salt and pepper. Cooked for another 10 minutes or so to thicken sauce and that’s it! I served it with mashed potatoes, hubby and I loved it.

I hope you do too!!

4 responses to “New recipe for Dinner – Unstuffed Cabbage

  1. Heather Winfield says:

    Yummy!

  2. Kristofer says:

    Yes it was definetly very yummy. Nice job sunflower.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

